Our Homeschool

Elementary Old Testament Bible Study

Our summer has been so full I haven’t made time for posting here much.  I believe in taking breaks!  And it’s okay because I’ve been doing some major re-organizing of our home and some major planning (and purchasing!) for the upcoming school year, and I can’t wait to share some of the gems I’ve found.

For the 2012-2013 school year we will be using Classical Conversations Cycle 1 as our history spine, which means we will be focusing on ancient times through the fall of Rome, and then finishing off the year with a few random global events that “just didn’t fit in anywhere else” according to the CC-creators.  So, our year will include Bible study from an academic perspective, as opposed to the more devotional perspective it gets during Cycles 2 & 3.

Many years ago, I used the “Great Adventure Catholic Bible Study” program for personal growth.  This year I will be incorporating the kid’s version of this study from Ascension Press found here.  We are going to attempt to memorize the 12 periods of the bible, as well as 4 major events from each period.  I created this PDF to help this process if you are interested:

[button link=”https://helpingchildrenlearn.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/bible_timeline.pdf” style=”download” color=”silver”]12 Periods of the Bible[/button]

We will also continue our reading through the Selina Hastings Children’s Illustrated Bible.  I also purchased the “read-aloud Old Testament collection” from Veritas Press found here.  There are also biblical components to the Story of the World, Volume 1 which my older children have been listening to this summer.  I think it’s fair to say that my kids will have a much fuller understanding of the Old Testament than I did as a child!

(Question:  Does anyone else struggle to study the stories of King David with young children in an age-appropriate manner??)

What are your favorite elementary resources for Old Testament learning?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Elementary Old Testament Bible Study

  1. I’m so excited that I stumbled across your blog today! Thank you for sharing these snippets from your lives. I, too, used the Great Adventure study and have looked at the kids’ version but I’ve not found much in the line of reviews. Have you had a chance to use the kids’ program? What are your thoughts?

    • Hello! Yes, we used the kid’s program for one school-year, and it fit really well into our home-school. Like all memorization, it requires repetition, just a few minutes consistently each day. I covered the 12 time-periods over the course of one semester and then repeated the second semester. I tried to supplement each period with a book or two related to the time period. The Old Testament book package linked in the post was helpful with that, my kids have read those books many times each because they also bring them to Mass sometimes. I don’t highly recommend many materials, but this is one I do! Hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

