Our Homeschool

Scratch – The Free Site Where Kids Can Code

My husband & I share the goal of helping our children to develop skills which might help them in the future.  The trick, of course, is to try to guess what the future might be like for them.  I sometimes think about worst-case-scenarios where my children grow up needing to know how to hunt, build a campfire, knit their own clothes, and grow their own food.  I’m an imaginative pessimist.

When I’m thinking more realistically positively, I agree with my husband that having strong computer skills will probably help them out somehow.  We encourage them to learn to type correctly, but we also want to help them learn other skills like basic coding.  I’ve seen programming lessons for sale at the Homeschool Buyer’s Coop, but there is also a fantastic, FREE website we recently discovered called Scratch.  I heard about the site first through a Ted Talk (shown below) given by one of its creators at MIT.  My 6, 8, & 10 year-olds have all become “addicted” to creating their own computer games on Scratch.  They aren’t learning actual code content, but they are learning how “chunks” of code work together.  Here’s the site:  Scratch.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Scratch – The Free Site Where Kids Can Code

    • thanks for that link, it looks helpful! I will add, however, that my boys (as young as age 6) managed to figure out Scratch without one second of help from me.

Leave a Reply

