Our Homeschool

Can You Hear It?

Hello, friends!

It has been so long since I’ve been able to post here.  I have several things I want to share soon, but I want to start with one, quick, enjoyable recommendation:  the book (and included CD) called Can You Hear It? by William Lach:

I have spent several mornings this semester sitting on the couch with children ages 4, 6, 8, & 10 enjoying a few songs and pictures from this book.  There is one well-known orchestra piece to listen to as you study a famous piece of art of a similar theme, 13 in all.  My kids loved this time together, and it helped get us through some of the last dreary days of winter with an extra sprinkle of joy.

After skipping around for a while and studying each page, I began to quiz the kids by playing a piece of music and asking them if they knew the name of the piece and the composer.  I created various lists of titles which the children could refer to initially.  (Download below.)  When I thought they were ready, I eventually “tested” each child in front of their father – he was amazed at how well they did!  Even our 4-year-old knew most of the titles as soon as she heard the first few notes played.  Five Stars!

canyouhearit600x562

Worksheets here:

[button link=”https://helpingchildrenlearn.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/canyouhearitworksheets.pdf” style=”download” color=”silver”]Supplemental Worksheets for the book Can You Hear It?[/button]

Leave a Reply

