Classical Conversations

Classical Conversations Fine Arts At Home

Using Classical Conversations as a curriculum spine, like we do, helps us organize many different subject areas.  The “meat and potatoes” subjects are history, science, geography, English, Latin, and math.  In addition, there are science experiments for each week, and I’ve already mentioned that we supplement all of these topics with great books for independent reading or family read-alouds.

The final piece of the puzzle is a “fine arts component” to include each week, which consists of lessons in music theory (with a tin whistle), drawing, learning about great artists and different art techniques (like Michelangelo painting ceilings), and learning about orchestra.  If you belong to a “CC” group, your child’s tutor does all of this for you.  If you do not belong to a group (like us), then you will want to get this component understood and organized, so you can really enjoy it and not be stressed-out by it!

 

I have actually advised other stressed-out moms to consider the fine-arts component optional, at least until you get the “meat and potatoes” portion of the program fully implemented and organized in your home.  You have 52 weeks each year to teach your children, so if you don’t get the 24 fine-arts activities done on-time, during the exact, suggested week, it really is not a big deal.  One of the main reasons many of us homeschool is just so we have flexibility in our lives when we need it.  All that said, however, the fine-arts component is, truly, the “happy” and “fun” part of elementary school, the most hands-on and interesting to young children.  So, as soon as time permits, read about it, understand it, and get these subjects organized and planned!  I hope to offer a few tips here.

 

We are almost half-way through our 3rd year of using this program at home, so I’ve seen almost all of the material by now, and I’m excited about getting to repeat it over the next 3 years!  Each year you use the program, you will understand it better – that’s just the benefit of time.  Early on, you will want to read the description of this component in the appendix of the Foundations Curriculum Guide, (pages 133-171.)  This book is now on clearance for only $15!   I paid $50 for mine and thought it was well-worth the money!

I recommend having a dedicated binder for this component, divided into 4 sections, one for each subject.   To help you organize the lessons, I have put together this detailed packet of information – check it out!  [button link=”https://helpingchildrenlearn.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/fine_arts_binder.pdf” style=”download” color=”silver”]The Fine Arts Lesson Organizer[/button]

These are the types of lessons I would do with my children in the evenings or during the summertime if they were enrolled full-time in a school somewhere!   Let me know what you think of the Organizer.

Related Post:  Learning About Norman Rockwell

 

4 thoughts on “Classical Conversations Fine Arts At Home

  1. Thank you for all your great ideas about how to implement CC at home. I am just getting started & trying to gather the materials we will be needing. I realise I’m a bit behind your post here but am wondering how/where you found the Foundation Guide for only $15? I looked all over their site for a clearance section but came up with nothing. Hopefully I will come across a Guide for less than the going price of $60 🙂 Thanks again for all your great ideas and encouragement!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Amanda. I just checked the CC online “bookstore” and no longer see the 3rd edition on clearance, so they must have either sold out or stopped selling it. I see the 4th edition (which I do not own) regular price $60 on sale right now for $50, which is what I paid for mine. I admit that it seems like a lot to pay for a book, but it’s indispensable for using CC at home (I guess that’s why they can charge whatever they want, lol!) If you’ve read the book The Well Trained Mind or Designing Your Own Classical Curriculum and felt over-whelmed by all the planning involved, you’ll understand why I felt it was worth it to buy this book and have so many subjects organized for me. No need to re-invent the wheel at these early ages. Take care!

  2. I’m curious does the Foundations book contain all the curriculum for music theory and art? If not what supplemental materials do I need? Thank you for this post it was very helpful!

    • Hi, Amanda, the Foundations book contains the lesson plans, yes. If you click on the Fine Arts Lesson Organizer I created (link in the above post) you will have a complete list of the supplemental materials. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

