Classical Conversations / Our Homeschool

Memory Work On A Weekly CD

[From the 2011-2012 School-Year]

One of the most effective ways for children to memorize important information is through frequent repetition.  To facilitate this, I make a “playlist” for each week we are using our Classical Conversations program (24 weeks per school year.)  The playlist runs 20 to 30 minutes in length.  How your children could listen to a playlist would depend on what digital gadgets you have in your home and where you want them to listen to it.

I am a bit old fashioned and prefer to put the playlist onto a CD.  If you haven’t “ripped” or “burned” a CD before, don’t be intimidated – it’s not difficult.  Having each playlist on a CD makes it portable – any CD player or computer in the house or in the van will play it, and no headphones are needed.  (I’m not a fan of headphones for young children – I think it is unnatural, isolating, and potentially damaging to their ears if the volume isn’t carefully monitored.)  If you use a CD-RW (re-writable) disc then each week you can “erase” the previous information and add the new.

Here’s what I typically include each week:

Of course, what you might choose to include could be completely different.  We aim to listen to the CD at least once a day for a week.  I always bring one along to listen to when we are in the van.  If a child seems tired in the afternoon, I will ask them to have a “rest time” on their bed while listening to the CD.

Here’s a Pinterest image I came across, but I couldn’t figure out who created it – if you know, let me know so I can give credit:

2 thoughts on “Memory Work On A Weekly CD

  1. This sounds wonderful but slightly intimidating to me. (I am a complete techno dummy.) Have you ever considered making these yourself and offering them for sale to your subscribers? As in, one cd per week for all three cycles? Or perhaps as mp3 downloads?

    • Hi Kim, besides all the material being copyrighted, I think the memory work you want your family working on will be unique – even unique to each child within the homeschool, to a certain degree. If you have a few CD’s with material on them (like the ones I have listed above,) it wouldn’t be hard to find someone who could teach you how to make your initial playlists. How you listen to them would depend on what gadgets you own and where you have time in your daily schedule for listening. My 11yo now listens to his violin music on his MP3 player with earbuds, but generally I think earbuds/headphones are potentially dangerous with little kids, I just don’t trust them to keep the volume at a low-to-reasonable level!

Leave a Reply

