Classical Conversations

Organizing Classical Conversations Materials At Home

I’ve mentioned that I keep the 24-weeks of Classical Conversations Foundations materials in folders, and I’ve been asked what is inside them.

The folders for the current year are kept on a shelf in my office (not accessible to the children.)  I also hide the supplemental books we’ll try to read each week.  Here are some of the basic materials I prepare ahead of time:

Print-outs from the Memory Work Resource CD for history and geography, laminated for durability and longevity.  This year I used an online company (Best Value Copy.com) to print everything I needed very cheaply.  These laminated pages will be put on a stand in the classroom.  There are also un-laminated maps for labeling, coloring, cutting, or copying:

Also purchased from CC is a science card for each week.  It lists the topic on the front, and the science question and answer for the week on the back, with some supplemental information.  These are very optional.  I don’t have them for all 3 cycles.  They are handy to bring along to study in the van:

And then there are 8 history timeline cards from Veritas Press.  The CC goal is to memorize 160 history events in chronological order, 8 at a time, adding motions if desired.  (Can’t believe it’s possible?  Here’s proof.)  We are actually not using these this year.  We are memorizing 48 events of the bible, reading dozens of great historical books, and using our Book of Centuries instead.

[A note to my fellow Catholics – yes, this is a history product published by a Protestant company.  There is a little bit of historical information on the back of the cards that we would strongly disagree with.  Some people make a big deal out things like this – my response is to take a permanent black marker and cross if off.  It is otherwise a great material for the elementary level.  Classical Conversations has recently started selling their “own” version of these.  There is also a new “Catholic” version of these available at Ignatius Press, but I haven’t personally seen either of these new sets.  I’m sure they’re all sufficient.]

Then, there is another handy-dandy check list.  I admit to not being able to function without a checklist.  This one helps me prepare for the upcoming “CC Week”, and you can view or download it here: [button link=”https://helpingchildrenlearn.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/prep_sheet.pdf” style=”download” color=”silver”]Prep List 2011-2012[/button]

(here’s my updated check-list for the 2012-2013 schoolyear:)

[button link=”https://helpingchildrenlearn.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/weekly_goals.pdf” style=”download” color=”silver”]Prep List 2012-2013[/button]

Also in the folders there are worksheets printed off to go into workbaskets.  We aim to have 24 “CC Weeks” each school-year, and during those weeks we do spelling, handwriting, and other subjects as well.  And finally, there will be a CD burned with a variety of memory work, songs, hymns, poems, and violin music.

Here’s a pdf of a history notebooking page we write on each week:

[button link=”https://helpingchildrenlearn.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/history_cycle1_notebook.pdf” style=”download” color=”silver”]History Notebooking Page[/button]

And here’s a pdf of a similar science notebooking page.  (On my pages at home I’ve typed in the CC questions, but because I assume this is copyrighted information, I haven’t included them here.)

[button link=”https://helpingchildrenlearn.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/science_cycle1_notebook.pdf” style=”download” color=”silver”]Science Notebooking Page[/button]

4 thoughts on “Organizing Classical Conversations Materials At Home

  1. New to your blog. I’m organizing for the new year and we won’t begin for another three weeks. Just wondering if you have looked at http://www.ccmemory.com? This is relatively new based on classical studies and is catholic. They have a memory cd that your family might like to compliment your studies this year. The timeline cards reflect church history as well. Once you master CC maybe this will be your next timeline to begin.

    • Hi, Holly, thanks for the great link. I hope to write a feature post about that company soon. This summer I created two sets of memory work for my family to use this fall – one for bible study and one for catechesis – I hope to share them soon. I know for my family that if I try to include TOO much memory work, we don’t do any of it well. It takes a lot of consistency, and I also try to keep our lessons as short as possible. I still think that, hands-down the best catechism for young children (ages 3-9) is the Catechesis of the Good Shepherd coupled with living out the liturgical year in the home. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Thank you for the bible/Catechism memory work this year. I am searching around your site again in anticipation of next year. Wow, I can’t believe how many times I’ve said “her thoughts are mine” All four of our children have benefited from Montessori and materials using a workbox system of drawers. We loved our transition to Classical Conversations this year and joined a group (to keep me on track). I have also been intrigued by Shiller Math for four years now. This will be our next big purchase and to help me get past third grade…fourth, second, first, kindergarten, and newborn to the mix! For our tea time we alternate Little Flowers or Blue Knights saint studies…your ideas are lovely!

    • Happy to hear from you again, Holly, it sounds like we have a lot in common! I would also join a CC group if there was one in my city. Just wanted to let you know that Shiller sometimes has “refurbished” kits available for sale. That’s what I bought for Kit2, and it appeared completely new to me, at a great discount. With a newborn you will certainly have your hands and heart full next year. Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

